Midnight Pursuits


I have many beginnings
But no ending
I’m looking for a climax
Excitement
Revelation
And all I find
Is life
Moving forward
And Forgettable
Obvious
And somewhat plain
To me
“All I want”
Is always the start
Of an untrue statement
I want too much
To single one thing out
I find everyone searching for
Security
Love
Comfort
I want those things
But it always seems
Wrong
Unfitting
In inappropriate manners
Ways that are too simple
To be asked for
Or desired
Friendships
Strong
And faithful
Are much too lightly taken
Love
In life
Should ask for more
Much more
But then not really
The physicalities of romance
Is not so much more
To be asked for
If anything
It’s less
Than I want
And have always wanted
Stability
Financially
Is less a cause
To be fought for
Than happiness
Which may be a sign of
Hippiness
And delusion
Or possibly
What everyone says is
Ridiculous
Insanity
Silly
And irrational
Is really 
The most sane
And the epitome
Of self discovery
If only truth
Weren’t such a
Divisible pursuit

Leave a Reply

