Eventually…


image

Eventually you have to be you again.
Eventually I have to be me.
And it’s something I forget sometimes
When I’m trying to be someone else
When I lie on your thigh
Face buried
When I lie to it
Through my teeth
And tell you everything is just fine
Because I can’t lie to your face
When you look at me like you care
And only tears can express my gratitude
And only holding you can express my pain
And only kissing you can express my need
To leave myself
To leave my mind
And watch myself from a distance
Being that girl I could only be
If I weren’t me
And eventually I have to be me again.
But I’m afraid you’ve always been you.

Leave a Reply

