Greatness


greatness_-_Bing_Images

“But I don’t want to be good, I want to be Great.”

I say those words. I say them often, and every time I feel them deeply enough to sense the liberation between each slight break, I also feel them bounce back at me moments later, rejected by the very world that inspired them.

It’s an interesting thing, greatness. No one truly knows what it means because of its immense relativity. We could ponder it all day and only ever get a one-sided understanding. Like viewing artwork or reading poetry, it’s meant to bring about opinions, not convey them. The thought has stumped me more than once.

I want to be Great.

There. I said it again. And I think I might say it too often.

“Great people don’t sit around pondering about what makes them great. They lead by example and just… are.”

I said that too. Because I thought I was thinking too much about it. What I should be, who I should become, how I should act, whom I should favor, are all ridiculous questions to ask. I’m roaming through life trying to make it into something. I’m trying to mold my life into what I think it should be, but I haven’t quite figured out what it should look like yet so I’m just blindly creating something. When people walk past, they see it and are just as confused about it as I am. Only thing is, they think I know what I’m doing.

I’m just trying to be Great.

Ah, there it is again. The relativity. What do I even think Greatness is?

I don’t think you should have to think about it. But is there anything that I haven’t thought about?

Leave a Reply

