sad-eyes

You look at me

Eyes tinted with supplication

Helpless, In need, and Expectant

The look in your eyes asks me for more

But don’t you know I have given my all?

Don’t you know I always do?

I pour out my soul

In helpless surrender

All that I have floods around you

Kisses you lightly

Gently pushes you forward

The love drains me

But I lie satisfied

Content, Happy, and Exhausted

And I look at you

Eyes barely open

Watching the waves sway you

Caress you

And bring you closer to where you’d like to be

And before I sleep I relish in your happiness

I breathe it in proudly

And before I sleep I notice you looking at me

Eyes tinted with supplication

Helpless, In need, and Expectant

The look in your eyes asks me for more

And I cry because I cannot give it

And it hurts me, as I lie there knowing

That surely if you would like me to live

You would accept that there is nothing more that I can give.

2 thoughts on “More

Leave a Reply

