The Words Evade Me


bed

The words evade me

Like most things do

At this hour of day

When I lie awake

Not dreaming

Not sleeping

Just thinking

Of what’s yet to be accomplished,

Mulled over

Left alone.

Alone.

A funny feeling.

Present with company as well as its absence.

As the absence I put upon myself reminds me

So kindly

Unlike most things

It offers a silent reminder

Bias crafted by my own heart

Silence sought out

and found wanting

Yet not welcome

By me

In this place I’ve been lying

Now sitting

Waiting for something

That may never come.

2 thoughts on “The Words Evade Me

Leave a Reply

