Undercover


It’s that fear that controls me

we play undercover games

He pretends that he is courage

and I’ll pretend I never knew

otherwise,

He’ll deal me a set of cards

and I’ll play along,

but suspect to be cheated

eventually,

He tries to charm me

with the way he deals

his fancy fingers

making the cards dance beautifully,

skillfully

in front of me

but,

I am not phased

And see the glint

of a red heart

up his sleeve

still,

I let it happen

while he wins my dignity

I draw strength in the fact

that,

at least it was courage

and not fear

that fooled me

Leave a Reply

