Who Am I?


listening

Who Am I?

I am the girl who listens

Who listens even when I turn my head

Away from you

I still listen

To the waves of your voice

The silent gestures of your body

Still speak loudly to me

Although their lips lie transparent

I’m listening

I hear you

I can feel the words you say

The full weight of them press against me

And those eyes

That I’ve never fully looked at

Burn through the side of my neck

I hear you

I’m listening

Though I’m writing away

Avoiding your gaze

There’s a welling up inside me

Homage to my attentive ear

And I notice your movements

I study your tone

I hear you

Every word

Unspoken and implied

I’m listening

Leave a Reply

